Bread and Butter

Several years ago, I budgeted and saved money and took a whopping two-week vacation in Paris, France.  I rented a small studio apartment in Montmartre (with a view of Sacré Coeur!) and lived my dream of living in Paris, even for a short while.  It was glorious.  I can’t wait to do it again.

For those two weeks, dinner consisted of several pastries from a couple of patisseries and some fresh bread and butter to round out the meal.  As you can guess, I was a very happy camper those weeks.

One of the bread loaves I fell in love with, was Eric Kayser’s Pain aux Cereales.  An item that’s listed in David Lebovitz’s “Ten Insanely Delicious Things You Shouldn’t Miss in Paris.”  There’s something about it, hearty, but light.  Lots of little bits to compliment what you slather on top, or not.  It was so great.  So great, in fact, that I bought a loaf the day I came back to NYC and stored it in my freezer at home.  It was painful eating it a slice at a time, not knowing when I’d be able to eat it again.

I’ve tried other grainy loaves, but sadly, nothing has come close.  I feel like not too many places put the grains in the bread, which is the best part of it.

So here we are in August 2012 and the best thing has happened.  ERIC KAYSER HAS COME TO NEW YORK.  That’s right.  He has opened a shop/restaurant and according to the rumor mill, he’s planning to open a few more.   Guess who was there on opening day?  Oh..me.  Since it was a workout day, I picked up a plie au chocolat (a variation of a chocolate croissant) on the way to the gym and then grabbed some loaves of bread on the way back.  Just like in Paris, I spent a few evenings just having bread and butter for dinner.  If I closed my eyes, I could faintly hear France 24 (French news which filled my NY1 void)  and felt like I was right back in my Parisian studio apartment.

Find them at:
1294 Third Avenue (74th Street)

