Subway to Venezuela

Have you discovered Venezuelan food yet?  Venezuelan Arepas are pretty common and there’s a few places in the city that feature them such as Caracas Arepa Bar and Arepas Cafe.  Recently, on an Elmhurst food crawl, I tried Patacon Pisao.  They’re know for their Patacon, a sandwich that uses flatenned plaintains, instead of bread.  Although very good, since I’ve never been the biggest fan of Tostones, not surprisingly, Patacon won’t be my favorite sandwich anytime soon.

On the way out of the restaurant though, I saw someone eating the Cachapa, and it has since haunted me and I’ve wanted to go back to Patacon Pisao to try it out.  Cachapa is much more up my alley.  It’s a big sweet corn patty, almost like very thin cornbread that’s crispy on the outside that’s folded over to make a sandwich of sorts.  The best combination of sweet and savory, this sandwich, has quickly jumped up the ranks to become one of my favorite sandwiches.  The pork and beef are very good and I highly recommend going one step further and mixing the two.

If you ever find yourself in Elmhurst – hey, there’s a Target there – or if you have some free time on the weekend and take a trip out, I highly recommend you try them out.

85-22 Grand Ave
Elmhurst, NY 11373
or
431 W. 202nd Street,
NY, NY 10034

