Heat Wave!

It feels as if Summer was feeling neglected and wanted to make sure we knew it was its time.  I’M HERE!  CAN YOU TELL?  Oh yes, we can.  In New York City and throughout the East Coast, we’ve had a couple of heat waves hit us and many, including myself, can’t imagine spending more than a few minutes in the kitchen.

I recently went strawberry picking with a couple of friends and had several pounds of berries screaming to be used.  Though I was happy to eat most of it as is, I felt like I need to make something with them.  Many of the things I thought about required turning the oven on, and with the weather being what it is, that was not an option.

I consulted my favorite baker, Dorie Greenspan, and looked for some inspiration.  As usual, she did not disappoint.  I found her recipe for No-Bake Tiramisu.  It combines pound cake, strawberry puree, sliced strawberries, whipped cream and mascarpone.  With that list of ingredients, can you go wrong?  Nope.

I think the recipe can easily translate with many other fruits, so I’m looking forward to using this recipe throughout the whole summer.

Happy Fourth of July!

