Step by Step

So you’re probably wondering what the heck this is.  Oh, this is FitBit climbing the Greenwich Steps in San Francisco.  The Greenwich steps are one of the stairways that lead up to  Coit Tower, a San Francisco landmark that is hard to miss.  The stairways, Greenwich and Filbert, are known for their steep climb and beauty.  The people who live along the steps take great care in planting and caring for the plants that almost envelop the staircases.

So why is the FitBit climbing?  Well, I wanted to talk about it, and my picture of just the FitBit was looking a little sad, so I thought I would put it in action.

The FitBit is a new-ish fitness gadget which is a fancy pedometer, but offers a few things that a normal pedometer does not.  My favorite function is the sleep tracker.  When you log your sleep and sync your activity with their online platform, you can see how often you toss-and-turned throughout the night.  It also shows you how long you were in bed, how long you were asleep and also gives you a score of how “efficient” your sleep was.  Why is this my favorite function?  Once I started to log my sleep, I noticed a link between how tired and out of it I was all day and how long I slept.  5 hours or less?  A mess.  6 hours or more?  Perfect.  It seems like a given, but surprisingly, it took me the FitBit to figure this out.  Ever since I made it a point to sleep at least 6 hours a night, it’s made a huge difference in how I feel.

If sleep tracking isn’t your thing, the FitBit also tracks steps, floors climbed, miles walked, calories burned and calculates an active score (an overall score showing how active you were).  It also syncs well with many fitness apps.  I personally use Lose It!, a free food tracking app, and I’ve had no problems.

I am known for collecting gadgets and things, and I worried that the FitBit would be my next victim to be used for one week and then quickly forgotten, but it’s actually gotten quite addictive.  When I see the number of steps I’ve taken in a day, I’ve started to make a point to take a quick walk at lunch or on my way home and it makes a huge difference in the number of steps I take.  Busy days at work where I barely leave my desk and go straight home?  6,000 steps or so.  Days when I take walks or run errands after work?  Easily over 15,000.

It’s pricey and when I bought it, I questioned whether I was making a mistake, but I can easily say that I’ve found it very useful in making me more active.

