Discerning Eye

I’ve been very lucky in that I’ve taken pictures with both a film and digital SLR.  The one big difference between the two, especially as an amateur without a lot of funds, is that with film, you had a very limited amount of photos you can take.  This, as it turns out, is both a pro and a con.  With film, you must think about every photograph you take.  Sure, you can experiment, but rolls of film costs money and you had to think about developing costs.  With digital, you can take as many photographs as you want, it doesn’t cost any money to process (not counting software) and you see the results immediately.

It’s great to learn to really use a SLR with digital, because you can see the photo and make adjustments as needed and you can take as many photos as you’d like, because really, other than storage space, there are no limitations.  When I started to use digital cameras, I went photo crazy.  The lazy part of me would then load almost all of those photos to Flickr, dumping hundreds of photos at a time.  As I see now, that’s not the smartest move.  It didn’t teach me the skill of going through my photos to figure out which one I wanted to present to the world.  If people had to rifle through hundreds of photos, would they find that one really awesome picture I have?  Likely not.  So, I’m learning.  After a visit to the Brooklyn Botanical Garden last month, I came home with hundreds of pictures.  It’s still really tempting to load hundreds of pretty flower pictures, but I want to share this really cool picture I got.  The trees create a natural arch around the couple sitting on top of a hill.  I like that you can’t see either of your faces, because it’s both intimate, but private at the same time.  I really like the leftover smoke from a plane which directs you to the middle tree, which leads you to the couple.  I think it is a smidge overexposed, but I almost like that quality, because it adds an ethereal feel.

