Frog eyes

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to drink frog eyes?  Yes?  Well now’s your chance!  All it takes is some basil seeds and some water!   I promise!
Well ok, it just looks like you’re drinking frog eyes, but it’s fun nonetheless.  I first saw this drink in Chinatown and I had no idea what it was, but I was thirsty and it looked interesting, so I figured why not.  Definitely looks weirder than it tastes.  Hydrated basil seeds are like tapioca balls, but instead of being chewy throughout, once you get to the middle you have a little crunch.  For the most part it’s flavorless, but depending on what you hydrate it with, it could have a little added flavor.  Basically, all you have to do is take some basil seeds (ones in the spice section are better just because they’re food safe), some flavored water (I made some lemon ginger vanilla simple syrup) and some time (at the minimum 30 minutes).   That’s it!  Once you’ve made the hydrated basil seeds you can add them to any drink and you have a conversation starter of a drink.

Basil Seed Drink

