A little bit of France

Macaron CafeIt seems like there’s a new food trend every year.  For awhile cupcakes were everywhere and it seems to be going strong with stores like Sprinkles from the West Coast and most recently Georgetown Cupcake from DC opening stores in NYC.  Although I like cupcakes, I don’t LOVE them.  So other than my favorites or when people celebrate birthdays in the office, I tend to stay away from them.

The food trend that I have been enjoying though, is the Macaron trend.  After taking some classes, I think I’ve determined that Macarons are one of those things I enjoy buying not baking.  Doesn’t everyone have something like that?  Anyhow, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the many stores that have been popping up.  It’s always hit or miss.  Even the French transplant Laudree suffers a bit in transit – but I will say that the salted caramel filling is as delicious as it was in Paris.

One of the surprising stores that I’ve liked is Macaron Cafe.  Many of the flavors are buttercream based.  I like them because they have flavors like cassis and rose readily available and I also like their creative flavors like matcha chestnut and creme brulee.  Give them a try the next time you’re in town!

 

2 thoughts on “A little bit of France

    • Oh I know. Once I found out that croissants were a two day ordeal, I was more than happy to just pick them up at the bakery 🙂 I would like to make puff pastry, but can’t seem to get it right. I blame my warm hands haha

Comments are closed.